The tenth edition of the "Meeting on Fundamental Cosmology" will take place in Seville (Andalucía, Spain) on 16-18 October 2024. This conference follows the same spirit as previous homonymous conferences held in Valencia 2013, Fuerteventura 2014, Santander 2015, Barcelona 2016, Teruel 2017, Granada 2018, Madrid 2019, Granada 2022 and Tenerife 2023, and is organised by a network of Spanish groups working on cosmology and funded through the programme "Redes de investigación 2022" of the Spain's Ministry of Science and Innovation. The goal of the conference is to gather world experts on different aspects of Physical Cosmology: observations, experiments and theory, including numerical simulations, instrumentation, astrophysics, gravitation and particle physics.

The conference spans over three days, starting in the morning of 16 October and ending at lunch time of 18 October. The registration fee covers coffee breaks, lunches and the conference dinner. The programme is organised in five main topics addressing:

  • Early Universe (inflation, CMB, intensity mapping and reionization)
  • Large Scale Structure and Gravitational Lensing
  • Theoretical Cosmology
  • Multi-messenger Cosmology (dark energy, dark matter, neutrino astrophysics, gravitational waves)
  • Cosmological Challenges in Galaxy formation and evolution.

A number of invited talks are planned, presenting a general overview of the topics listed above, and combined with contributed talks presenting more targeted or specific recent scientific results. In particular, contributions from early-career scientists are specially welcome. This meeting series has traditionally been a forum for interaction between young and established researchers in the field and will continue to promote this.  

Confirmed invited speakers

  • Santiago Arribas (CAB)
  • Carlo Baccigalupi (SISSA)
  • Sarah Bosman (MPIA, Heidelberg University)
  • Guadalupe Cañas Herrera (ESA)
  • Violeta González Pérez (UAM)
  • Tomasz Kacprzak (ETH Zurich)
  • Antonio Maroto  (UCM)
  • Javier Olmedo  (University of Granada)
  • Judit Prat (Nordita)
  • Angelo Ricciardone (University of Pisa, INFN)
  • Miguel Sanchez Conde  (UAM, IFT)
  • Jesús Torrado (University of Padova)
  • Laura Wolz (University of Manchester)
  • Pauline Zarrouk (Sorbonne University)


Venue: Pabellón de Uruguay. Av. de Chile, s/n, Seville (more info)


Scientific Organising Committee (SOC)

  • Raul Angulo - DIPC, San Sebastián
  • Belén Barreiro - IFCA CSIC-Universidad de Cantabria (co-chair)
  • Mar Bastero-Gil - Universidad de Granada
  • Laura Bonavera - ICTEA Universidad de Oviedo
  • Mariam Bouhmadi - IKERBASQUE-EHU, Bilbao
  • Daniel G. Figueroa - IFIC-CSIC Universidad de Valencia
  • Ricardo T. Génova Santos - IAC 
  • Héctor Gil-Marín - ICC Universidad de Barcelona
  • Antonio Hernán Caballero - CEFCA
  • José Oñorbe - Universidad de Sevilla (co-chair)
  • Francisco Prada - IAA-CSIC
  • Carles Sánchez - Universidad Autónoma de Barcelona
  • Ignacio Sevilla - CIEMAT


Local Organising Committee (LOC)

  • Belén Barreiro - IFCA CSIC-University of Cantabria (co-chair)
  • Isabel Bellido Hacar - University of Seville
  • Álvaro Domínguez Álvarez - University of Seville
  • José Oñorbe - University of Seville (co-chair)
  • Oscar A. Rojas - University of Seville
  • Manuel F. Ruiz-Herrera - University of Seville
  • Doris Stoppacher - University of Seville



Activity funded by a Research Networks 2022 grant research with referenceRED2022-134715-Tand financed by MCIN/AEI/10.13039/501100001103

Grant program to organize scientific meetings of the VII PLAN PROPIO DE INVESTIGACIÓN Y TRANSFERENCIA DE LA UNIVERSIDAD DE SEVILLA [SOL2024-29704].